The “Hip” in Shipping Supplies

We live in a world of constant change, for better and for worse.  It’s not just simple change, though, like today the sun is shining and yesterday it was raining.  Or, today I’m going to wear jeans but yesterday I wore slacks.  The kinds of change in this day and age are so huge that we now have access to information as soon as it is available, anywhere on the planet.  If you don’t that’s huge, allow me to impress you otherwise.  That’s huge!

custom-packaging-boxes

All of this change applies to shipping supplies as well.  For example, when I’m trying to find a business that offers a certain service, if they don’t even have a website I’m going to assume that they are cheap and outdated.  I don’t really like that about myself, because I want to give people the benefit of the doubt, but I also don’t want to waste my time or money.  A clean, professional website is a very positive indicator that I’m going to get clean, professional service.  It’s a first impression before I have to go anywhere, talk to anyone, or spend any money whatsoever.  Which is a pretty big deal, if you ask me.

Now let’s apply this same concept to shipping supplies.  Updated shipping supplies is also a positive indicator that a business is serious about it’s product.  Re-used boxes are not going to be very impressive.  Skimping on the tape so that the package isn’t properly secured is going to be an outright turnoff.  An item thrown into a box with no protection whatsoever is going to make you want to send it back.

The key is to order your shipping supplies in bulk so that you always have some on hand.  There should be no reason for a shipment to go out late because you ran out of supplies.  Ordering online gives you thousands of options, so there should be no reason that you find yourself using the wrong item on the wrong item, if you get what I mean.  Why put a square item in a round container when you can put a square item in a square container.  And why put a small square item in a large square container when you can put a small square item in a small square container?  Do you catch my drift?  As a business owner, it’s important to develop with the times, and that doesn’t mean selling out, it just means staying current.

 

Leave a Reply

